Sitemap

Disable Previews
  • Awakening
    • Am I a Vampyre?
      • "Hey Zane, am I a vampyre?" Well, to be completely honest with you, you're probably not if you're asking me, but I'll err on the side of caution and assume that maybe a few of you who ask this questioin are, indeed, vampyres. For those curious about the answer to this, I've created a sizable list of things to consider when asking this question.
    • Coming Out of the Coffin
      • Sometimes the hardest part about being a sanguinarian, is having no one to really talk to when something related to it happens. This feeling of isolation often leads one to wanting to tell someone, non-sanguin, about who/what they are... so they can have a confidant, someone to talk to. A bit tongue-in-cheek, perhaps, but the phrase "coming out of the coffin" is what the vampire community has been using to mean telling another non-sanguin about being a sanguin... like coming out of the closet for gays, and coming out of the broom-closet for some pagans. :) The hard part, though, is who to tell and how. I hope that in making this addition, I can give some help and advice to those wanting to know a way to do just that.
    • Explanation Behind Some of the "Symptoms" Often Associated With Sanguinarians
      • Often a subset of sanguinarians will mention/complain about something in themselves, which is then agreed with by others and soon seems to gain recognition as a "symptom" of being a sanguin, when this is most likely not the case. The great variance in the susceptability, severity, and even occasion of these ills leads me more to believe they are simply part of normal variation in a giving population rather then caused by or a result of blood drinking. The list that follows remains compiled because I feel you need to know that these non-symptoms can, and often do, have other causes that need to be checked out, especially if they arise suddenly and with no discernible cause. That having been checked out and possibly nothing found, then they are still most likely the result of normal population variation and does NOT mean you are a sanguin just because you poses a certain number of these grievances.
    • Learning to Live
      • When a person is subjected to a sudden change in life, the mind usually takes longer to adjust. Its also common that hearing one persons experience can help others in the same state. I've known this awhile, but have been lax in making this page. So, what follows is a chronological account of how I adjusted to being Sanguin... to the best of my memory. There may be some seeming gaps, it is either because I simply do not recall, or there are others involved who would prefer not to be mentioned ;) My hope, is that this recollection will help others. And if you want to share your story, feel free to e-mail it to me and I will begin another page :)
    • Lessons Learned
      • I truly believe in the above quote, and because of this I decided to make this addition. The things here you can either take or leave. I put them here because many are based on mistakes I have made, and I want others to be able to learn from them. You don't have to apply them, you don't have to listen, they might not even apply to you... Not all are related to Sanguins either, some are things I have learned for other parts of my life. Some of these are serious, but you know I can't make them all that way... I think I would explode or something :) I welcome the experience of others as well. If you have learned something that you think others would benefit from, e-mail me at: s_faolchu@yahoo.com Somewhere in the message let me know it is for this page, though. Otherwise I may respond, but I won't post it.
    • My Awakening
      • For myself it was a much longer and confusing process than most, and, interestingly enough, I actually experienced all three styles. When all was said and done, it took me approximately two years to fully Awake.
    • Passwords, Minors, and Information
      • Sanguinarians "awaken" usually at puberty. Typically, puberty occurs between 12 and 15 years of age... minor age. It is during this time, though, that the information on pages such as mine, and Sanguinarius' and SphynxCat's is most needed. The problem arises in that we are talking about having to cut people, blood drinking, and scarring. Permanent, heavy, stuff. Can people younger then 18 handle this? Should they have to? To the first question, I don't know. To the second, I wish the answer was no. Around puberty, people have enough things to worry about, their body is changing, their hormones are kicking up, and life gets tough. Throw in a sudden craving for blood, and well, it doesn't get much better. Can we honestly say that these people do not need our support? NO! Perhaps they are the ones that MOST need our support. Someone other then Anne Rice and Bram Stoker to point them in the right direction and let them know they are NOT freaks, and their lives are NOT over. The trouble comes, in that on this side of the fence, we can see the need because we have been there, on the other side stand the parents, and they have no idea. They want to protect their child, to keep them safe, and I am certainly not saying that should not be so, nor am I saying we should go against parental wishes. What I am saying is that we need to look at this from both sides of that fence. From our side of support, and from the parent's side of protection, and seek the middle ground.
    • The Awakening
      • Question: "So I've read your vampyre Lingo page, and keep hearing about this, "Awakening," thing, but what exactly is it?"
    • Yes, You Can
      • An often heard question. The answer... BULLSHIT! So what, you are a vampire. You need blood or take energy. That is absolutely no reason you cannot enjoy the same things you do now. Liked the beach? Go to the beach! like the sun? Bask away! Love like more sunscreen, sunglasses, long-sleeved shirts, open-minded dates... but thats it. Vampirism should, in no way, interfere with your life to that extent. Go, have fun, laugh with friends, get a day job, do what you want to do. Yes, its a bit of a wrench in the gears, but make it work around you, and you can do that. It is not the end of the world, your social life has not just come to a grinding halt, and the sky is not falling, even though I know it can feel like that. Please, please remember this. It IS your life, it IS now or never, and you AREN'T going to live forever. So if you enjoyed it before, you can enjoy it now. Nothing is stopping you.
  • Coping
    • Beating the Blood Addiction
      • I think almost anyone claiming to be a vampire is addicted to blood in some way. I am called a vampire, yet I seldom if ever call myself that, as I don't like the term much. I consider vampirism either 1.) a learned immunity to the vomiting effects of blood, or 2.) a predisposition to being immune to the intake of blood. Neither require an addiction; neither are considered a medical condition except as an oddity, yet you will see ppl claiming to be vamps speaking of "the hunger", which is an addiction -- and like any addiction, has withdrawal effects. In all actuality, I can't say vamps exist or don't exist. I view it as a subculture. Like any subculture, it has faction groups; like any subculture, it claims to be better than the "mundane humans". So I am left in a very undecided state here... Do they exist? Do they not exist? The reality is that more things exist than we are willing to admit. Maybe belief makes someone a vamp, just as belief makes someone Christian.
    • Blood Bars
      • A fairly popular topic throughout the Vampyre Community is the subject of "Blood Bars." Many will insist that they do not exist, while others will quite confidently make proclamations of their definitive existence.
    • Blood: Nutritional and Common Uses Around the World
      • Many people claim that there is no nutritional value in blood. Sadly, this is a common belief primarily in America, since most Americans - especially those in the medical profession - tend to forget just WHAT is being measured in the blood with lab tests, and that blood is regularly on the menu - both cooked AND raw - in many non-American cultures.
    • Blood Recipes
      • Put the blood, minced meat, liver and heart, into a large basin. Add the salt and spices to the dried wholemeal and mix all into the blood and meat. It has to be rather soft, batter-like mixture; if it is too thick to pour into the skins through the funnel, add some of the (hot) water in which the meat scraps (not the liver) have been cooked. The pudding skins should be cut into lengths about a yard long and one end tied securely. The mixture should be put into the skins, leaving a little room at the end before tying in the middle like a figure 8. Put into boiling water and simmer gently for an hour, keeping them moving in the pot by stirring with a long- handled spoon. A wide-neck funnel is needed to get the mixture into the skins.
    • Blood Substitutes
      • While nothing truly replaces blood, itself, there are many every day food items that will reduce the bloodlust, even if only temporarily. After scouring every corner of the Net years ago in search of these items, recipes, and techniques, I am setting out to once more discover these things and bring them to you.
    • Blood Substitutions
      • This article will always be a "work in progress" - as I run across new tips and ideas, I'll add them in here. Each one is listed alphabetical by person who I got the tip(s) from, and any notes I have on his/her tips and ideas.
    • Can I Control Or Supress It?
      • How well you deal with setbacks and possible flareups will dictate how well this will work for you. Do not be afraid of yourself. You are still the same person you were before, vampirism just adds a new level of things to deal with. The "what" is not as important as "how you deal with it". Whether you call yourself a vampire or something completely different is up to you - it's only a word, after all. If it makes you feel better, don't use "the v-word" at all!
    • Controlling The Beast / Vamping Out
      • This is a more mental aspect, and requires ways of regaining or keeping mental control over yourself.
    • Finding Substitutes
      • A lot of vampires tell me, "No substitute can quench my thirst for blood." While this may or may not be true, more than usual, these folks haven't taken the time to find substitutes that suit them.
    • Getting Blood from a steak
      • Those of you who deliberately don't eat meat probably won't want to read this. The rest of you, help yourself!
    • Hellish Vamp Outs
      • I am recovering this evening from a rather hellish vamp-out this morning. This is hard for me to talk about, even online, but I want people to know how bad things can get sometimes.
    • OK, Now What?
      • Questions along this line are usually asked by younger people, typically still in school and living at home. Quite often, this question is asked in the midst of panic, before having time to step back and reason things through. This list will go through some of the common problems I've seen mentioned in the past, and will cover point-by-point things that can be done, or things that should be checked for either by you or a medical professional. (You don't need to mention "The V-Word" when going to a medical professional - simply give them a list of problems and ask them to run appropriate tests.)
  • Discussions
    • Sanguinarius Discussion 2009-08-25
      • "Log of the August 25, 2009 discussion in #Sanguinarius during which participants mostly discussed their symptoms and effects they attributed to extended non-feeding."
    • Sanguinarius Donors Community Chat 2011-09-16
      • This is the log of a Community discussion that took place on September 16th, 2011. The "official" topics were that of Sangs and Hybrids, however there was later somewhat of a "sub-discussion" that took place regarding Donors, along with Donors' feelings toward vamps and vice versa. Because this wasn't part of the "official" topics, I decided that it would not be included in the "official" log; however it did occur and is quite interesting nonetheless.
    • Sanguinarius PsyVamp Community Chat 2011-09-23
      • This is the log of a Community discussion that took place on September 23rd, 2011. The topic to be discussed was that of "Psy Vamps/Psi Vamps/Psychic Vamps." These are individuals who believe that they must Psi-Feed to maintain a healthy existence.
    • Sanguinarius Sang/Hybrid Community Chat 2011-09-16
      • This is the log of a Community discussion that took place on September 16th, 2011. The topics were that of Sangs (Sanguinarians/"blood vampy(i)res") and Hybrids (what many believe to be individuals who can live off of either blood or Energy).
    • Vampiric Aging Conference 2005-06-10
      • This Conference was held as a way of introducing this topic to members of the community with a vested interest in the changes involved in Aging, as a Vampyre, and a way for Vampyres over 35 to get to know other Vampyres going through similar issues.
    • VVC Global 2009-07-10
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Global Vampire Community Discussion (Public) – July 10, 2009
    • VVC Global 2009-08-02
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Global Vampire Community Discussion (Public) – August 2, 2009
    • VVC Global 2009-09-20
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Global Vampire Community Discussion (Public) – September 20, 2009
    • VVC Public 2006-01-28
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Public Meeting – January 28, 2006
    • VVC Public 2006-08-05
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Public Meeting – August 5, 2006
    • VVC Public 2008-04-27
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Public Meeting – April 27, 2008
    • VVC Public 2008-08-09
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Public Meeting – August 9, 2008
    • VVC Public 2008-12-06
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Public Meeting – December 6, 2008
    • VVC Public 2009-04-25
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Public Meeting – April 25, 2009
    • VVC Public 2009-08-30
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Public Meeting – August 30, 2009
    • VVC Public 2009-12-20
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Public Meeting – December 20, 2009
    • VVC Public 2010-06-16
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Public Meeting – June 16, 2010
    • VVC Public 2011-03-22
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Public Meeting – March 22, 2011
    • VVC Public 2012-03-25
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Public Meeting – March 25, 2012
    • VVC Public 2012-09-23
      • Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) Public Meeting – September 23, 2012
  • Documents
    • A Little History Lesson
      • Yes, I am qualified to give this lesson–I lived it. I was there in the flesh while it was being made! There is plenty of documented evidence to support my claim.
    • Age Distribution Within The Vampire Community 2011 - 2012
      • Copyright 2006 - 2012; Suscitatio Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. No portion of this website may be reproduced, transmitted, or modified without expressed written permission from Suscitatio Enterprises, LLC.
    • An Open Letter to Any Who Would Wish to Become a Vampire
      • I wrote this to someone in an email, and I think it bears repeating for any and all to read.
    • Blood and Psy Vamps: Not So Different, After All
      • I used to think think that blood vampirism is something completely separate from psychic vampirism, but now I am not so sure. I feel that perhaps blood vampires might even actually be a specialized type of psychic vampire. Don't look at me like that; I'm not turning coat... Let me try to explain what I mean.
    • Enabling in the Vampire Community
      • If one were to lift up the proverbial rug of the vampire community to view what has been swept under it they could not possibly miss Enablers. Enabling is a term often found in the areas of drug and alcohol abuse but it also present in mental health issues and various other things that are considered problems. An Enabler is someone who downplays a serious problem or issue instead of confronting it.
    • Leaders, Founders, Unity, Affiliations & Order
      • I would just like to give my opinion about "leaders and founders" in this community and order, unity, etc.
    • Participation In The Vampire Community - Average Hours Per Year 2011-2012
      • How many total HOURS per YEAR on AVERAGE do you spend in the vampire community ACTIVELY engaged in VAMPIRE/VAMPIRISM-SPECIFIC tasks of posting discussions or replies, mentoring or providing direct assistance, attending social gatherings that aren't exclusively party/club oriented, meetings, conferences, writing articles/blogs/books, projects, or other hands-on tasks? Please do NOT include time spent leisure web surfing, reading, or other non-interactive/discussion/production tasks.
    • Real Vampire Community Abuse Awareness Campaign
      • The real vampire community is an open and accepting culture, which should be a safe space to engage in introspection and the open exchange of ideas. Whether you have a solid self-understanding as a vampire or non-vampire, or whether you've come to the community in pursuit of such an understanding, the community is a place which is often engaged in dialogue about self and identity. Likewise, it often attracts individuals who are seeking tools with which to build and grow that sense of self.
    • Real Vampire Community Personal Safety & Privacy Awareness
      • The vampire community was formed in part to promote the well-being of its members with a supportive social network. We've done an admirable job in promoting safer feeding practices, sensitivity and acknowledgment of donor concerns, and sharing the most effective ways to manage or conceptualize vampirism. We've supported one another as we discovered that it was acceptable to form our own identities, even if those close to us can't or won't be supportive. Despite our advances, we’ve fallen short at protecting our community from exploitation by both outsiders and subversive participants who exist among us. The most visible members of the vampire community should strive towards being more open to newcomers and willing to work with them on finding responsible resources. When newcomers find themselves in a leaderless environment they are more likely to encounter individuals willing to serve this role who have less than honorable intentions. The time has come to acknowledge and correct this problem.
    • The Advanced Bonewits’ Cult Danger Evaluation Frame
      • Events in the last several decades have clearly indicated just how dangerous some religious and secular groups (usually called “cults” by those opposed to them) can be to their own members as well as to anyone else whom they can influence. “Brainwashing,” beatings, child abuse, rapes, murders, mass suicides, military drilling and gunrunning, meddling in civil governments, international terrorism, and other crimes have been charged against leaders and members of many groups, and in far too many cases those accusations have been correct. None of this has been very surprising to historians of religion or to other scholars of what are usually labled “new” religions (no matter how old they may be in their cultures of origin). Minority groups, especially religious ones, are often accused of crimes by members of the current majority. In many ways, for example, the “Mormons” were the “Moonies” of the 19th century — at least in terms of being an unusual minority belief system that many found “shocking” at the time — and the members of the Unification Church could be just as “respectable” a hundred years from now as the Latter Day Saints are today.
    • The Black Veil 1 Plus Information
      • At long last, I have located a copy of the first version of the Black Veil (many thanks to Vyrdolak!). This was written by Father Todd back in 1999, or possibly 1998, and is mentioned in the 1998-1999 edition of vampyre Almanac. Lest important roots be forgotten (as some would prefer), I have included it below for historical purposes, for reference, and so that it can be compared to subsequent versions. In the few short years since the Black Veil was first written, its evolution reflects the evolution of the vampyre lifestyle and subculture (as well as the vampire roleplayers community) into something more than mere roleplaying. With the efforts of Todd Hoyt (a.k.a. Father Sebastian Todd) and a number of other like-minded individuals with a vision in the New York City ("Gotham") area, the Sanguinarium was formed and the Black Veil became more than a mere set of guidelines for vampire-pretenders to interact with each other.
    • The Black Veil 2 Plus Information
      • "The Black Veil" (v. 2.0), also known as the "13 Rules of the Community", was composed by Michelle Belanger of House Kheperu, Father Sebastiaan van Houten of House Sahjaza, and COVICA in 2000 as a voluntary standard of common sense, etiquette and ideals for the Sanguinarium and the greater vampyre/vampire community. This is not a text to instruct someone on how to be a vampire, but rather a code of ethics for those who are and wish to adopt them as their own personal code. It is based on an earlier version written by Father Sebastiaan in 1999 or possibly in 1998 (the copyright states 1999).
    • The Black Veil 3 Plus Information & History
      • The Black Veil is a set of ethical guidelines designed to serve as a moral compass for the vampire community. The original Black Veil was written by Father Sebastiaan van Houten (then-called Father Todd) for the Sanguinary Society (later the Sanguinarium) in 1999 (possibly 1998). Subsequent revisions were made by Michelle Belanger in the fall of 2000 and later in 2003. As there is such diversity within the vampire community, the Black Veil has been the focus of much debate and controversy. Many who first encounter the document assume that it is intended as a strictly enforced set of rules. Others question the applicability of any set of guidelines to the community as a whole. Finally, there is the issue of the first published version of the Black Veil, which many felt owed a great deal of inspiration to the "Traditions" of the role-playing game, Vampire: the Masquerade.
    • The Black Veil 4 Plus Commentary
      • The Black Veil has undergone yet another revision. This time, it seems to be a complete rewrite, abandoning previous versions, and scaling back to only 5 tenets. It's been endorsed by many to lend it legitimacy, though few of the names will probably be recognized outside of the increasingly exclusionary Ordo Strigoi Vii. Interestingly, it is now considered by the author to be a trademark of Sabretooth, which is Father Sebastiaan van Houten's fangmaking business. Maybe the Black Veil has come full circle and is now back to it's vampyre lifestyle origins?
    • The Donor Bill of Rights
      • This Bill of Rights is to promote the continued safety of the most precious of gifts to us, their life essence. It is suggested that this be signed by both the vampire and the donor on a 30/60/90 day trial basis. After this, the contract can be resigned for an extended period of time which can be either the 30/60/90/ or 6 months to 1 year. At the end of these contracts, discussions can be made as to whether or not changes should be done. What will be allowed and what will not be allowed.
    • The Vampiric Ethos
      • We recognize the intrinsic value of everyone, regardless of age, race, gender, sexual orientation, or spiritual philosophy. We do not follow or promote any particular religious, political, or philosophical creed. Our community strives to create an atmosphere in which individuals are not only free to create their own meanings, values, and convictions, but also expected to do so. To that end, this document represents a basic premise for ethical, educational, and safety awareness within the vampire community.
    • Vampire Accessories Poll 2012
      • Copyright 2006 - 2012; Suscitatio Enterprises, LLC. All Rights Reserved. No portion of this website may be reproduced, transmitted, or modified without expressed written permission from Suscitatio Enterprises, LLC.
    • Voices of the Vampire Community: Official Statement of Purpose
      • The purpose of the Voices of the Vampire Community (VVC) is to develop friendly relations among the various Houses, Covens, Orders, organizations, and individual leaders of the vampire community; to encourage cooperation in solving community related problems and in promoting respect for the views, ideas, and opinions of others without seeking to establish a unifying or governing body; and to be a center for harmonizing the actions of groups in attaining these ends.
  • Donors
    • Aftercare for Donors
      • I want to start by saying that each of us is different. We handle things in different ways, with different people and donors, obviously. I know also that there are many different kinds of vampires and what works the best for one kind of donor may not work at all for another kind of donor. There is a triple antibiotic ointment to help a psi donor after the affair has been completed.
    • Blood: How Much is Too Much
      • For some blood drinkers there is no such thing as too much blood. However, However, there is such a thing as giving too much blood. It is important for blood drinkers to be aware of how much blood they are taking from a donor and at what level blood loss causes health problems.
    • Bloodletting for New Donors
      • This article is written with an eye for the donors who don't want to have pain (or at least not huge amounts of pain) associated with feeding a vampire. This will be especially applicable for donors who are more "vanilla" (don't have pain-associated fetishes, for example), are more sensitive than usual to pain, or who are more nervous/less experienced (and more likely to be driven away by a bad/painful experience.)
    • Bloodletting Tools
      • As with all bloodletting implements, it's best if you know the safe locations to use them, or more specifically, the locations NOT to use them. A copy of Gray's Anatomy or any other decent medical anatomy book will show you the locations of the major arteries and other things to avoid. Some bookstores will let you "browse before you buy", or failing that in your area, perhaps your local library will have a copy of something applicable that you can browse. You can also use Gray's Anatomy Online if you cant' afford (or can't find) a good medical anatomy book local to you.
    • Bloodletting
      • Due to the nature of this information, I really can't tell you what TO do, but I can give basic safety information and tell you what NOT to do. So that is what follows. Also the Disclaimer for Idiots:
    • Choosing and Working With Donors
      • For those who identify themselves as vampires, a donor is often the key to general health and comfort. Without the blood and/or energy from a donor a vampire’s quality of life might suffer and they sometimes don’t feel as well as they could. Hence, it is important that the donor is respected.
    • Donor-Vamp Contracts
      • Some people disagree with the idea of a "contract" since it makes things too formal, or puts things on paper that perhaps shouldn't be, or even because it sounds idiotic to have a contract done for this type of situation.
    • Donor/Vampire Relations 101
      • Be honest about what you need, want or expect. "Mixed signals" result in miss. Understand that for some, feeding IS an erotic or intimate thing, and they may not be able to separate that when feeding from or donating to someone new.
    • Donors and Vampires Guide to Negotiations
      • In every relationship there is a process, a time period when we learn about each other and what the expectations both parties hold for the relationship. The process for Vampires and Donors is no different then any other relationship, yet there are some questions and issues that should be discussed between the vampire and donor that are a little more complex.
    • Donors & Vampires: My Advice to You
      • Because of the nature of the subject, this article is intended for individuals who are 18 years of age & over.
    • Donors
      • To satisfy the Thirst completely, for the time being one must drink blood (providing that you are a sanguinarian, of course). Note, though, I do not condone the drinking of blood! If I didn't think I had to, I wouldn't for safety and sanity, and so I say that you, reader, as well... if you don't absolutely have to, DON'T! To drink it one must find it. This can prove difficult. One must watch closely the people they drink from, to protect against disease, and one must first find them. My donors have all been trusted friends who either I told or they figured out what I was. Good friends are often the best people to go to, both because you can (usually) trust them, and its a lot easier to ask for a Drink from someone you know well rather then a stranger. Like Coming Out of the Coffin, the best people to ask are those who seem open minded. Though in terms of looking for a donor there are some people to avoid. I have noticed that people with significant others (not yourself) often make bad donors, mostly for emotional reasons. Though the drinking may not be an erotic occasion for you, this may not be well understood and difficult to explain to a donor's significant other. It can lead to some nasty misunderstandings, and often accusations of cheating and betrayal. So, unless the potential donor's significant other is completely alright with it, I wouldn't go there. ANYONE under the age of 18 is a definite no-no. You are marking a person, cutting them to get blood. Anyone under 18 is a minor and cannot legally give permission for this to be done, no matter how "mature" they are, it can lead to imprisonment and legal dung up to your armpits. Very bad thing.
    • Eligibility & Blood Testing on Mundane Donations
      • These are the blood tests done on blood given at a donation center such as the Red Cross. Please note that the primary emphasis on these tests are to determine whether the donor has an infectious disease that's transmissible via blood transfusion, and what blood type the person is (to avoid blood typing problems later) - not the person's general health status (which is better served by a "CBC w/differential" and a "chem20" or "complete metabolic" and other testing done by your primary physician.)
    • How to Keep Your Donor Safe
      • We hope that the sanguins protect their donors as much as we expect our donors to protect us. Some of it is common sense, but these are my "Big Ten":
    • Overview of Mundane Blood Donation Process
      • Apheresis, an increasingly common procedure, is the process of removing a specific component of the blood, such as plasma, and returning the remaining components to the donor. During apheresis, blood is drawn from one arm and pumped through a machine that separates out a specific component, such as platelets. The rest of the blood is then returned through a vein in the other arm.
    • Overview of Selected Bloodborne Diseases
      • When dealing with blood or other body fluids, there are typical precautions against unwanted and unintentional contact that all medical staff follow. Even if you are not in a medical career yourself, learning these precautions will be useful for situations when you don't want to run the risk of disease transmission. These include:
    • Tips for Donors
      • The term donor is used to describe someone who provides blood (or pranic energy) on their own free will without being coerced. It is important that donors recognize any situations that may place them in danger or threaten their health.
  • General
    • Are Vampires Real? / What Kinds Are There?
      • Yes, we are. And no, we're not going away. :P :)
    • Doctrines and Beliefs, Oh My!
      • Every now and then I get a piece of e-mail that goes something like this:
    • Egyptian Vampires
      • If you'll look carefully, you'll see that I don't use any form of ankh on MY particular site - the reason is simply because I feel they have been overused on almost every other real vampire website out there. I have no control over anyone else's site, so if you are that offended, by all means, e-mail everyone who uses ankhs on their site - don't just assume I'm one of them run to the feedback page without taking the time to look through mine first.
    • Generations, Bloodlines, and Clans
      • Thought for the day: What do you mean by the "purity" of one's blood? That sounds kinda ... almost racist or something?? Not sure.
    • How do I tell if I'm a vampire?
      • ...and something I hesitate to bring up in public for fear of offending people, but...
    • How to Spot Fake Sites
      • How can you tell which websites are legitimate and which are bad? Something that becomes obvious later on, this can be quite difficult to discern toward the beginning of one's Awakening. There are, however, a few simple ways that one can use to easily determine whether or not a group or website is legitimate.
    • I have [trait/symptom]. Could it mean that I'm a vampire?
      • Being naturally nocturnal, having excellent night vision, and/or sensitivity to bright lights/sunlight. Sunlight feels like a heat lamp radiating uncomfortably on your skin; you may burn easily, but not tan readily. UV lights -- a/k/a"black lights" -- drive you nuts to look at them.
    • Legal Issues for Sanguins
      • **I am NOT a lawyer and CANNOT give legal advice! This is mearly information on legal issues to consider!**
    • Overview: Psi Vampires
      • Psi is an abbreviation that represents parapsychological phenomena collectively. Parapsychology is the "study of mental phenonmena outside the sphere of ordinary psychology".(The Oxford English Reference Dictionary) Telepathy, telekinesis,ghosts, hypnotism, and energy work would more or less fall under the parapsychology umbrella.
    • Overview: Real Vampires
      • There are many myths surrounding vampirism in the context of reailty. Some of these myths serve to amuse real vampires and other tend to frustrate them. Perhaps most frustrating of all is that the myths perpetrate this idea of what a vampire is and the romantized version leaves some believing that they want to be a vampire
    • Reality vs. Fiction
      • Here I outline the differences between the "vampyre of fiction, myth, and 'tweens'" and the vampyre of reality. So, here they are in no particular order.
    • Teeth and the Vampire
      • In just the last few weeks I have noticed numerous questions about fangs; Do we have them? Do they grow? Are they sharp? Do we attack people with them? In light of this, I figured it would be easy and quick to put this together. Hominid teeth, what they do and what they are for. Because, well, if you have a set of long n' pointies... look to your DNA, not Dracula.
    • Types of Vampyres
      • Psi/Psy, Hybrid, and Sanguinarians. We have all heard of these terms, but it seems that nowhere in all of the Vampyre Community are there ever discussions regarding this. Every time one pops up, it is quickly deleted or heavily censored by the Webmaster/Webmistress. Why, though? This should not be.
    • What do real vampires look like?
      • No different than anyone else you know. Sure, there's a few who push the "freak" boundaries and dress for shock value, but then there's the opposite end too - those of us who hold down corporate type jobs need to dress to match the business world we're working in with both clothing and hairstyles. As an example, I have several mid-level management appropriate business suits in my closet, even if my current workplace is business casual. (I have worked day shift, it's just not fun.)
    • What's it Like Being a Vampire?
      • How do I answer this? How does one answer, for instance, the question, "What's it like being human?" -- How can I explain it? It's a state of being, and it's all I really know. To me, it's completely normal, and I can only compare and contrast it to what I see of others who are not vampires in order to know that it is unusual or not the normal thing. I can hold my own self and experiences (as well as those of others who are also vampires) up to what I see of those who are mundane "humans", and list some of the things which I see are different. Then the differences I can label as being positives or negatives.
    • Why we prefer to stay in the shadows
      • Consider what the word "Vampire" means to most people, especially those with a steady "diet" of Hollywood movies and popular vampire fiction. It means a human (or human-like) person who takes the blood/vitality/life-force/etc. of other people to feed themselves. Because they don't understand why an apparently "normal" looking person would need to (much less want to) drink blood, and for no apparent medical reason, it scares them. It's too far outside the realm of most mundanes. After the panic wears off, the definition hasn't changed, but now they think....is this person psychotic? A possible homicidal maniac? Dangerous to their fellow coworkers and people on the street? Thoughts like this doesn't exactly put a person at ease, especially if they have any idea what psi abilities a vampire can have. :) Many people new to the vampire community usually ask at one point or another why many of us insist on staying in hiding. "Why not just explain it to people?" they ask, "Surely they would understand, once you explain it to them!"
    • Why We Use The Term Mundane
      • In the early years of the online vampire community, there were many terms in use for describing non-vampiric people. Some of these terms included "mortal" (which implied that we were immortal), "human" (which implied that we were...well...something else), "nil" (which implies...braindead? or something...) and "normal" (which implied that we were abnormal or perhaps in need of psychiatric care). Because most of us do "mundane" things like pay bills, have doctor visits, go to work, etc., something that wouldn't generate such a wildly innacurate picture of us was needed.
  • Groups
    • House Aset: The Kemetic Order of Aset Ka
      • The Kemetic Order of Aset Ka, or House Aset as it is often shorthanded, is one of the oldest vampyre groups around, particularly known for its secrecy. Only somewhat recently have they begun establishing a public identity, with the Asetian Bible being published in 2007. Not long after the inception of the Aset Ka website, many curious cats came wandering down this road of mystery and oftentimes dead ends – and with their open statement of secrecy, it is no wonder that House Aset is so intriguing.
    • House Quinotaur
      • There really isn't much to say about them; they are a fairly tame bunch from what I can find. They don't even have a House-originated religion – it's just a social networking site for Quinotarii.
    • How I started NOVA
      • Lately there has been a lot of questions on various lists, groups and gatherings about “how can I start a vampire group in my area?” with the most resounding and often used answer being “go to meetup.com and start a group”… This gets a bit on the pricey side after a while. So, in the spirit of sharing, I thought I would write down how I personally did this.
    • Joining a House, Church or Other Organization
      • If the group is online, check out their website, see if they have any membership information and requirements. (Most websites will have a link of this nature, even if it's just to a page that says "Sorry, we're not accepting any new applicants at this time.") Read the requirements before applying for membership - if they expect a lot of in-person attendance at events and meetings, and you're several states away, then it's probably not a good match.
    • Temple of the Vampire
      • This details quite fully the hypocrisy and greed shown from the administration heading the ToV. One key fact I have always warned people of was that they claim you must buy their book, The Vampire Bible, to become a vampyre, and must study it over the course of many, many months and years to ascend in strength when it is quite obvious that reading a book does not make one a vampyre.
    • Temple Sahjaza
      • Beginning as a coven led by women, for women in the early '70s, Temple Sahjaza is one of the oldest Houses/Covens/Temples still around today. Taking its inspiration from various female-dominated cultures throughout history, the founding members saw women as the, "...[embodiment] of life an death itself." (source)
  • Health
    • Abdominal Pain
      • Abdominal pain can be acute and sudden in onset (parasitic infection, food poisoning, etc.), or the pain can be chronic and long-standing (ulcers, irritable bowel, etc.). Abdominal pain may be minor and of no great significance (lactose intolerance, minor food allergies, etc.), or it can reflect a major problem involving one of the organs in the abdomen (pancreatitis, ecoptic pregnancy, etc.) or a more generalized, but still serious, problem (porphyria, protein deficiency, etc.) The characteristics of the pain - location, timing, duration, etc. are important in diagnosing its cause. Persistent or recurring abdominal pain should ALWAYS be evaluated by a medical professional.
    • Advanced Sleep Phase Syndrome
      • Knowledge of different circadian rhythm disorders will help people differentiate whether they have a genuine sleep disorder or whether there are other factors at work. This article will go into some details of Advanced Sleep Phase Syndrome.
    • Amino Acid Requirements, Concentrations, and Functions
      • A theory that has been floating around is that the sanguinarian condition is due to an imbalance in amino acids in the body. All well and good, and actually does have possibilities, but most in the community are not very familiar with the concept of amino acids and what they do. Amino acids serve in many functions in the body: building blocks of protiens, transport signals in the nervous system, bases for making the bodies energy, and even in making hormones. I am not going to go into the chemistry of amino acids (since that in itself is a three credit course!) but just say that all amino acids can be basic (negative charge) or acidic (positive charge) and that can effect what they do in the body.
    • Anemia Overview
      • Anemia in general is one of many conditions in which the circulating red blood cells are either deficient in number or in total hemoglobin content, relative to the normal ranges.
    • Animal Blood
      • Animal blood. The very mention to some conjures up thoughts of disgust. But, sometimes, its all you can get, and though not great, its better then nothing at all. Like all blood, though, there are risks involved, and that what I want to address here. The most common types of animal blood are cow, sheep, chicken, pig, goose, and deer. This is because these are the most common types of animals taken to slaughter. As you will see, most of the disease result from poor slaughter technique allowing for contamination of the meat. However, as we tend to eat undercook or raw meat, and of course raw blood, these disease become more of an issue for us. The "Affected Species" includes those we are most likely to come into contact with, but is not a complete list of carriers of the diseases.
    • Averages For Men and Women
      • Often sanguinarians find themselves looking for what sets them apart from other people, and often these differences are agreed upon simply by the thought that "a lot of us have it, so it must be a trait". The problem with this view is that it rarely, if ever, takes into account normal human variation. This is essential. We cannot claim to be different, if we don't know what we are different from. Below you will find the averages of the human body for height, weight, pulse rate, body temperature, sick days, life expectancy, sunburn time, migrane rates, and a few other tidbits thrown in just for curiosity sake. All the information below was found in The Gale Book of Averages. Variation for each is listed below the tables.
    • Basic Digestion Advice
      • If you are having digestion troubles, don't forget that quite often it can be simply a matter of what you're eating, and when you're eating it. Some digestion issues can be resolved with simple modifications to your diet, or by having a better understanding of the reasons food can impact your digestion.
    • Blood Borne Diseases
      • Many people know that drinking blood is really not the safest thing in the world, but at the same time close their eyes to the reality of just what causes it to be unsafe. A fact I find disturbingly common. For sanguinarians this can be a serious subject, and one that I have found few know that much about. I have broken the risks of blood-drinking into two pages, this one, on Blood-Borne Diseases, and a second on (/oblbrsk.htm)Other Blood-drinking Risks. On to the info:
    • Blood Result Interpretations
      • Often times it seems people get blood tests run, which is good, but then don't know how to interpret the results or understand the abbreviations used. Not uncommon, as they are confusing. Here I will try and list the most common parts of a blood panel, their abbreviations, what they test for, what the normal values are (Laboratory reference ranges, though the "normals" vary depending on the lab used), and what high or low could indicate. Also, these values and desriptions are based on the assumption that the cells themselves are apparently normal in size, shape, and structure. However, I do make the statement I am not a human doctor, and so any in-depth questions should be directed to your doctor or nurse. These are the horses, but they know about the zebras and "what if"s.
    • Bloodletting and UK Law
      • Bloodletting is used by many people for many different reasons. Vampyres use bloodletting to feed. Others use bloodletting as part of sex play. Still others use bloodletting as a form of release. How does the law view bloodletting for what may be described (inaccurately) as recreational purposes?
    • Chronic Fatigue Syndrome Overview
      • Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, or CFS, gets mentioned a lot on various real vampire forums. Some websites even list it as a symptom, I suspect primarily because of the "lack of energy" feeling many CFS patients have. This article will go into some of the known details of CFS, and list some of the ailments that mimic some of the symptoms.
    • Circadian Rhythms Overview
      • Mythology describes vampires as being nocturnal, either by preference or necessity. It's pretty common among the vampire community for people to report being nocturnal by preference, but the assumption is often made that this is a symptom of vampirism - and thus unusual outside of the community - when it's more common outside the community as well than many people realize.
    • Components of Blood From Different Species
      • It is well known in the sanguinrian community that human blood is the best. It stops the cravings, makes us feel better, and the effects last the longest. However, it is also known that animal blood can sometimes be a nice subsititute. What is the difference? Why does one work better then the other?
    • Dealing with Photosensitivity - General
      • Actually, dealing with photosensitivity is much more simple and painless than you might think. It's just that the causes are not always simple and painless. This article works under the assumption that the photosensitivity issues are limited to oversensitive eyes and somewhat sensitive (or easily prone to burning) skin, and thus need minor or basic protective measures. (This used to be broken up into two articles - I've cleaned them up a lot and combined them into one so the information is all in one place.)
    • Dealing with Photosensitivity - Sunscreens
      • Sunscreens are a lotion, spray, gel or other topically-applied product that reflects or absorbs some of the sun's UV radiation on the skin, and helps prevent sunburn. Light skin is more susceptible to sun damage than darker skin, so people with lighter skin tones need stronger sunscreen (The melanin in darker skin affords some natural skin protection.) The higher the SPF, the more protection a sunscreen is supposed to offer against UV-B rays (typically the part of the spectrum that causes sunburn.) (You can also see the eMedicine article linked below on sunscreens and photoprotection for more information.)
    • Delayed Sleep Phase Syndrome
      • Many people in the vampire community cite "not being a morning person" as a symptom of real vampirism. This often shares the same signs as Delayed Sleep Phase Syndrome, a circadian rhythm disorder where the person's normal wake/sleep schedule is shifted 2 or more hours later than what is commonly considered "normal".
    • Depression
      • Disclaimer: I am not a health-care professional. The information contained here is neither intended nor implied to to be a substitute for professional medical advice. This guide is for informational purposes only, and is in no way meant to take the place of a visit to and advice from a health-care professional. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider prior to starting any new treatment, or with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. Nothing contained in this service is intended to be for medical diagnosis or treatment.
    • Diet - Stomach Troubles
      • We all have what is best described as "stomach trouble" now and then - whether vampire or not - and it can be due to a variety of causes, ranging from food allergies to food poisoning - if you know you are allergic to a specific food, the best bet is to avoid it - and if you are fatally allergic (as with some people who have peanut allergies) it becomes even more imperative to know WHAT is in the foods you're eating! But for situations where you have to deal with foods that you know "don't agree with you", here's a selection of ways to reduce or eliminate digestive trouble.
    • Digestive/GI Problems - Disease Processes
      • Sometimes a digestive complaint is more long term or chronic, a result of a disease or what's often referred to as a "functional disorder". This article covers some of the various diseases processes associated with common digestive complaints.
    • Digestive/GI Problems - Transient Issues
      • Inevitably, someone comes along with complaints similar to these that come up suddenly, or over a recent span of time:
    • Fibromyalgia
      • Many real vampires often complain of various aches and pains. While it can easily be chalked up to "overdoing it" with various strenuous activities, sometimes a person will eventually be diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. Due to the number of people that seem to be diagnosed with it, others have gotten an impression that Fibromyalgia is a vampire symptom - when it's most definitely NOT.
    • Fighting Misinformation
      • The amount of misinformation surrounding vampires is startling. However, when it comes from someone claiming to be in our community, it becomes very disturbing. Out of sheer curiosity, I was surfing the MSN chat room scene when I came upon a Vampire room, which shall remain nameless. Shortly after my arrival, I was given a link to the community associated with the room. On the introduction page I was horrified to read that one could probably not become infected with HIV through blood feeding because stomach acids kill HIV.
    • Food Poisoning
      • A number of people cycle through the lists, the chatrooms and the message boards that claim that they can't eat normal food because they get various bad symptoms after eating. Since I have no way of knowing whether they're just experiencing food poisoning or if they've actually checked things out thoroughly, I don't feel it's my place to say, either way. :)
    • Hypovolemia / Hemorrhagic Shock
      • Hypovolemia basically means low blood volume. "Hypo" means low, "vol" is for volume, and "emia" refers to blood. The reduction of blood volume in hypovolemia means there is a reduction of oxygen carrying capcity. Thus, symptoms of hypovolemia may include cold hands and feet, light headedness, infrequent urination, increased heart rate, and weakness.
    • Insomnia Basics
      • Insomnia is a common problem characterized by a persistent difficulty falling asleep and/or staying asleep, despite having ample time to do so. This can range from mild to severe, depending on how often and long it happens for. A patient with insomnia may be tired and grumpy during the day, have trouble concentrating, and be prone to falling asleep.
    • Iron and Iron Deficiency: Why Most People *Aren't* Deficient
      • Some people take iron because they feel tired and "run down" all the time, and they believe that they have anemia and thus, need to take iron. In the vampire community, I have seen people automatically dish out the advice "Oh, you're a vampire? You need iron!"
    • Irregular Sleep-Wake Disorder
      • Patients with Irregular Sleep-Wake Pattern will usually have a typical average sleep time within a 24 hour period, but it will be broken up into three or more shorter blocks of sleep time in each 24hr time period. This article will go into the differences between this and other circadian rhythm disorders.
    • Joint Pain Overview
      • The average person should not be in acute pain on a daily basis - pain should be short-term, self-limiting, and ideally, show improvement in under six weeks.
    • Keeping That Youthful Appearance As You Get Older
      • There is nothing supernatural about looking younger than you actually are - but there is a LOT of influence from your environment and what you do to your body. Let's go over the most common visual aging factors first:
    • Maintaining Good Health
      • Anywhere I turn in the community, it seems there's always someone complaining about some aspect of their health. Most people would think that emotional issues and physical health problems are part and parcel of being a vampire, but for the most part it doesn't have to be - you just need to know how to deal with what comes up, and how to prevent most of it. Here is a list of things you can start with:
    • Malnutrition: Protein Deficiency
      • Some people take iron because they feel tired and "run down" all the time, and they believe that they have anemia and thus, need to take iron. In the vampire community, I have seen people automatically dish out the advice "Oh, you're a vampire? You need iron!"
    • Nightshades and Arthritis
      • Nightshade foods can be a surprise source of pain - in fact, many people may suffer from it without knowing what the actual cause is. The pain is systemic and widespread, affecting many joints. Some people get inflammation as well - some do not. In any case, the pain can be severe enough to be disabling, especially when nightshade foods are eaten in large amounts.
    • Non-24 Sleep-Wake Syndrome
      • Unlike either Advanced Sleep Phase or Delayed Sleep Phase, Non-24 Sleep-Wake Disorder is a longer than average sleep-wake pattern, not just one that's offset from "normal". This article will explain more about Non-24 and why it's often harder to deal with than most people realize.
    • Other Risks of Blood-drinking
      • Besides the obvious (I hope) risk of becoming infected with a Blood-Borne Disease there are other risks involved, both mental and physical, to your and your donor that you definitely should be aware of. Those wishing to be "turned" especially should take note of these two pages.
    • Pica Basics
      • Occaisionally someone gets the idea that blooddrinking is one of the many forms of Pica, and assumes that anyone engaging in blooddrinking practices are suffering from it. This is usually followed by advice to see the doctor (which, actually, is good advice anyway...) to get the "problem" fixed.
    • Porphyria
      • Porphyria is one of those ailments that gets pegged as "the vampire disease" because the porphyria forms affecting the skin have photosensitivity as one of the side effects. While the photosensitivity may be a shared problem, the effects of it are not. This article will provide an overview of the porphyrias and explain why someone with porphyria isn't necessarily vampiric.
    • Possible Causes for Photosensitivity
      • Photosensitivity can happen for many reasons, not just because of vampiric tendencies. Please take the time to rule out the mundane causes - wouldn't you feel better knowing that you have a medical condition that can be treated and being able to get it treated before it was too late? This article is broken down into the following sections:
    • Prions, Kuru, Cannibals and Sanguinarians
      • Prion diseases are scary. In the bluntest terms, they are fatal within a year of symptoms developing. In humans, the symptoms are depression, memory loss, loss of coordination and fine motor control, eventually leading to inability to move and death. The thing that causes the disease is called a "Prion". It is a little protein in the brain, all brains. The part that causes the problem is a mutant form of this little protein. The mutant form, when it encounters a healthy form, mutates the prion. Eventually, the mutant prions work their way through the brain, causing little fatty spots and holes in the brain, destroying brain function.
    • Psychosomatic? I Think Not!
      • One of the common things I hear when I get e-mails from the curious and skeptical is "How do you know its not all just psychosomatic?" or "How do you know its not just an addiction?" The short answer is that 100%, I don't know... the long answer is I am pretty much 99% sure it's not... and here is why:
    • Reducing Sun Poisoning & UV Damage
      • The information here is pulled from one of the sections of Chapter 3 in the book Vitamin C, Infectious Diseases, and Toxins by Thomas E. Levey, MD, JD, with additional information from the abstracts of the referenced medical studies. I am quoting (the indented sections) from the book, but I am including the references for each pertinent piece with the appropriate section, rather than at the end of the section as Dr. Levey does in the book.
    • Shift Work Sleep Disorder
      • This is likely a more common problem in the vampire community than most realize, for one simple reason: Our tendency to sleep in - or even sleep all day - is very much at odds with having to be up during the day for school or most professional obligations. Attempting to get sleep AND meet obligations sometimes means many of us are sleeping at any time we're not required to be anywhere.
    • The Basics of Food Allergies
      • An allergic reaction involves two features of the human immune response. One is the production of immunoglobulin E (IgE), a type of protein called an antibody that circulates through the blood. The other is the mast cell, a specific cell that occurs in all body tissues but is especially common in areas of the body that are typical sites of allergic reactions, including the nose and throat, lungs, skin, and gastrointestinal tract. Food allergies are usually inherited - if allergies of any kind are common in a family, then developing food allergies will be more likely, especially if both parents have allergies of some kind.
    • Thyroid Disease 101
      • Due to the complex and varied nature of thyroid disease, this article makes the assumption that the reader is seeking general information appropriate to either young adults or adults rather than young children or infants. The links at the end of the article lead to more complete, detailed information if what you are seeking is beyond the scope of this article. There are many, MANY causes and treatments, for example, that are not covered in this basic overview.
    • Vitamin D Deficiency
      • This is probably the number one supplement I tell people in this community to take. After all, most of us avoid the sun on a regular basis, for fairly obvious reasons :) - it shouldn't be any surprise to find out most of us are vitamin D deficient to varying degrees. There is a rather LARGE list of references at the bottom of this article - I highly recommend perusing everything in there if you have time so you have more complete information on Vitamin D and it's role in your health - you'll see that I'm not exaggerating anything.
    • Vitamins & Minerals List
      • The bulk of the information in the following list is taken from a book called The New Professional Chef, and published by the Culinary Institute of America - if you can find a copy, I highly recommend buying it! (Mine's old - 1991 - but still very VERY useful) It's not just a cookbook, it also teaches you about kitchen sanitation and hygiene, the various kinds of food poisoning, it goes into detail about the different kinds of cooking oils and the pros and cons of each, and lots and lots and LOTS of other good stuff. This is essentially a professional chef's handbook on HOW to be a professional chef.
    • What Every Blood Drinker Should Know
      • There are few things more disturbing than contracting a life threatening disease from sheer ignorance. In this day and age there is no real reason one cannot access the information they need to reduce the risks of blood feeding. Unfortunately, myths surrounding blood borne diseases and how they are transmitted are still rampant.
  • History
    • An Overview of Real Vampire Origin Theories
      • Inevitably, someone new to the community will come looking for information, and among the questions asked will be something like one of the following:
    • Dracula
      • Here some light is shed on "Dracula" (no pun intened...okay maybe a little). I point out that while he was a rather charismatic man (not to mention sadistic), he wasn't very much a vampyre by any stretch of the imagination. Just a pretty awesome historical figure that kicked some serious bad guy booty, albeit using some fairly sickening methods.
    • From the Beginning to October, 1998
      • Before I was online, I corresponded with people in the vampire subculture and people who said they were vamps, researchers, etc. Eventually, I was contacted by someone who later invited me to join a network of real vampires that they were trying to form, and it had a newsletter. It had barely got off the ground, when a few viscious people, whom the founders had decided didn't fit the qualifications of what a real vampire was, started nasty rumors regarding us and the network: what we were, stood for, did, our goals, etc. Since we were very secretive (and a bit elite...read as snobbish, I suppose), -- we were instructed to talk about it with nobody outside ourselves, -- nobody outside the group knew any better. You know about sheeple and the rumor mill...ugh!
    • Genetic Biochemical Interaction Theory
      • Genetically speaking, if we know all people have identical genetic codes, which are active however can be extremely different. These differences are part of what makes each person unique. Yet even in being unique we have so many similarities as to make the differences hard to determine on a genetic level.
    • Is a Medical Cause for Sanguinarians Practical?
      • Much of my page focuses on medicine, science and looking for a medical cause to the sanguin condition. But is this a practical approach? Are we wasting our time looking in that direction?
    • Lilith
      • Many millenia ago when the world was first being created, God plopped two dandy souls on Earth named Adam and Lilith. (No, not Adam and Eve. If you think that Adam and Eve were the first souls on this planet, then you obviously have not done your homework.) Adam, being male, and Lilith, being female, were meant to reproduce and populate the Earth. Well...that didn't work out so well.
    • Pranic Energy = ATP? No...
      • One of the things I keep seeing on psi vamp sites is that Pranic Energy is equal to ATP, and that Pranic energy is what Sanguins get from the blood, and Psi-vamps get in other ways. I can't debate if Pranic energy is what is taken or not, but I can debate that Pranic energy is ATP, and that is what is injested.
    • The Evolution of the Meaning of the Word Vampire
      • There is, in fact, a good answer to your question, Darkestone! But it's NOT a simple one (or a brief one!). I'll try to keep it as clear and concise as I can, but I suggest you find a comfortable seat, because this is going to take a little while.
    • V5 Vampire Virus
      • It is thought that this virus is a sort of endogenous retrovirus, behaving much like HIV. In short, retroviruses are viruses that, once in the body, attack the genetic make-up of our bodies, altering our very DNA, and the term, "endogenous," means that it is passed on through the offspring from the parent organism. Therefore, "endogenous retrovirus," means that it is a DNA-altering virus that can be passed on to the infected individual's children.
    • Vampirism as a Virus
      • The hypothesis of vampirism having a viral cause is an old one. We see it in movies, TV shows, books and occasionally, though credited erroneously, as fact. Is there a possible truth to this, however? What would be the pros and cons of this hypothesis? Well, here you go:
  • Interviews
    • I'm Doing A Term Paper / Report / Article
      • Every few weeks we get one of those e-mails, or one of those people pops into IRC. While I understand the curiosity and interest in doing one of these (I had the "bright idea" to do that in school myself, oh so long ago...) there are a few pointers you should know before jumping in with your list of questions that may include ones already asked in the past:
    • I'm Doing a (TV or Radio) Documentary/Show
      • The people in this community come from all walks of life - students, lawyers, medical staff, IT professionals, factory workers, etc. There is no single unified appearance or occupation - while some go for the "overboard" goth look, others prefer to dress in a manner than blends in, particularly if they're working for a living.
    • Interview Advice & Guidelines
      • I've had three or four interviews, and blown off about five or six. Of those that I have done, one made it to a local paper, and that was a fiasco (ergh...); one fellow supposedly had a book contract, but he lied about that and after making a big splash, and getting all these people to pour out their life stories to him, just blew everyone off and dropped out; one was for a private publication, which ended up making a one or two sentence reference to me; and one was a part of a screening process for a private organization.
    • Notes for Interviewers
      • Ask 10 different people and you'll probably get 15 different answers. :)
    • Psionics
      • A Contemplation: The World on Energy
        • One definition of subtle energy is, “a loose term used to describe any energy that is not recognized and categorized by conventional scientific knowledge.” (healthandgoodness.com) Some simply think of it as qi (chi) or prana, the life force. Many people are skeptical about the existence of subtle energy. Aside from the fact that belief is not required for something to exist or for something to be true, most have experienced it without any recognition.
      • Astral Projection
        • "Astral Projection" is the action of "becoming" your Soul, and moving about outside of the limits of your Physical Body.
      • Astral Seals
        • "Seals" are something often used when an individual wishes to "hide" something. Because others can view your emotions, your memories, your thoughts, etc. some people wish to create what are called "Seals" to hide these things. You shouldn't do this with current thoughts/memories, but some people have certain things that they'd rather others not see, and/or would rather forget, themselves.
      • Basics of Shielding: A Visual Approach
        • In order to understand shielding, one must first understand the basis of psionics, that is, quite basically, that everything is made up of energy and that very energy may be manipulated to various degrees. There are many things that you might wish to shield yourself against, but for purposes of this article, I will assume that your desire is to shields yourself against being drained of energy.
      • Claim Your Space, Dammit!
        • Whether it's a leech-like psi/astral creature attaching to you, attempted possession or tagalong by psychic/psionic entity, creepy things invading your personal / residential space, or a Working gone wrong (construct creation, etc.)
      • Controlling Energy Draining
        • If you are a psivamp, unintentional leeching will eventually happen, sooner or later, despite your efforts to totally prevent it - the key is to minimize the effects when it happens. If the psi-feeding connection is held too long, or is not broken properly, residual draining may occur, or the other person's energy may continue to "leak". The other person will most likely feel excessively tired or exhausted, and may fall asleep. Such tiredness is typically short-lived (hours or days at the most) but may extend for weeks depending on what else is going on or if there is persistent draining.
      • Empathy 101 - Overview on Empathy
        • Empathy is the ability to "read" and understand people's emotional states. Empathy in and of itself is not the same as telepathy (ability to "read" and understand people's thoughts) but CAN function in similar ways to a highly skilled empath, especially when combined with the mundane skill of reading body language and facial expressions.
      • Empathy 102: Empathic Filters
        • The first problem any unshielded empath notices is the overwhelming amount of impressions from other people. You don't know where "you" stop and "other people" begin, particularly when you've been around one or more people for a while. Confusion is common from having multiple emotions vying for attention, and most of them aren't yours.
      • Grounding & Centering 101
        • It is easy for anyone who is sensitive to get overloaded by excess or negative energy, or in the case of empaths, overwhelmed by energy that is highly charged with emotions that are not the empath's own emotions. Grounding is a basic technique used in most energy or magickal work that assists in shedding the the negative or excess energy and allows you to stabilize your own energy levels. There are many techniques for doing so, and not all of them are visual in nature.
      • Meditation/How to See Auras
        • “So...you're saying that if I want to get better at this 'Psionics' stuff I have to meditate? Well, how do I meditate?” It's a question that's asked quite a lot, and an answer that I give quite a lot. The problem is, it's a difficult matter to write an article or “how-to” about because of how individualized it generally needs to be. Everybody's different and everyone learns differently; however despite this I'm going to give it my best shot anyway.
      • PsiFeeding: Sources, Perception & Draining of Energy
        • A lot of people ask me what the energy feels like when I¹m working with it. I have always replied that how I feel energy won¹t necessarily be how anyone else feels it - and I still believe this, because there are essential differences between how I perceive things and what I see described by other sources. This doesn't mean that anyone is necessarily wrong or right - only that how we interpret things is not the same. While other people may see energy in colors or shapes or anything else, I'm aware primarily of textures and sometimes strength or temperature.
      • Psi-Feeding
        • Psi-Feeding is when you transfer the Energy from Object A to Object B. Basically, all you're doing is moving it from one place to another -- it is not nearly as "magical" as many people make it out to be.
      • Psionics: Arguments For and Against
        • As with anything in life (gravity is no exception), there are both those who say "Yea!" and those who say "Nay!" Because of this, I am going to list what we can find of those who say "Nay!" and give you my argument against them.
      • Psionics: What is It?
        • Energy is the force that is all around us. It is in the air that we breathe, the cells of our bodies, the bountiful beauties of nature, and also in what we have come to know as, "energy," (i.e. electrical, mechanical, chemical, thermal, and light energy).
      • Shielding 101 - What is Shielding?
        • In this usage, "shielding" refers to psi-based defenses around yourself, commonly either within or along the "edges" of your aura/energy field. "Shields" are often called many things by different people, including "wards" or "personal wards", "psi defenses" and so on, all depending on the person's experience and preferences. No matter what you call it, it's still a form of protection from outside influences such as psychic attack and empathic/telepathic overload.
      • Shielding 201: Basic Shielding Principles
        • Yes, absolutely. I use several all the time. :) However, if you're just starting out, you'll need to practice to get the knack of having all of the ones you choose up at once without conflict. (For anyone who's been doing it for a long time, it will seem automatic, like breathing.) Think of it like juggling several objects. Someone who's used to juggling several objects has no problem keeping them up - someone new will keep dropping them left and right, and are lucky if they can get them to "bounce" more than once. Depending on how focused you are will determine how fast you can master this skill.
      • Shielding 301: Overview of Shielding Techniques
        • Shields are your primary method of protection from psychic/psionic attack and possible damage, with a variety of different styles used for different purposes. While some people may settle on a preferred shielding method and stick pretty much to that, it is recommended that you learn and practice multiple shielding methods so that you're better prepared in different situations.
      • Spirits
        • Spirits are all around us, and can only be seen when one looks at the auras about them, or Astrally Projects outside of his/her own body. Our Astral Bodies' eyes can see them, just not our Physical eyes.
      • What are Auras?
        • “Auras.” We've all probably heard the term at some point or another, but not all of us have had a very accurate depiction of what these “things” actually are.